Source: HBO

Game Of Thrones Recap: “The Gift”

Things moved a little faster on this week’s Game of Thrones. Here’s some of my quick thoughts on where things are at this point in the season.

No Arya this episode.

Arya’s storyline this season has been dragging beyond belief, so I can’t be upset that they omitted it out of this week’s otherwise plot-progressive episode. Braavos has been boring thus far. I understand it’s building up to something, but I can only watch her clean dead bodies and dirty floors for so long. And I still can’t believe that she’s going to give up “Arya” and her vendetta. She stashed Needle for a reason. Maybe we’ll see some good progression for her next week.

Castle Black just got real empty.

Between Stannis leaving for Winterfell, Jon leaving to go past the wall with the Wildlings, and Maester Aemon kicking the bucket, there’s lots of room for activity at Castle Black. Speaking of Maester Aemon, I was in shock that someone in Westeros actually died of old age. How did he manage that? So anyway, those new “activities” seem to be raping Gilly. Yay. Not. Isn’t there enough disgusting behavior going on in the North?

Speaking of disgusting behavior…

I am so over Sansa being abused. This season better end with her going on a killing spree, preferably starting with burning Ramsay at the stake. Bad enough we learn she’s been raped repeatedly, she also gets beaten. Joy. I think we get that Westeros is a place full of horrible people, we don’t need a reminder of it by abusing Sansa every episode. And now it pains me even more since she found out Jon is alive and Lord Commander, and now she’s going to have hope he’s coming with Stannis to Winterfell, when he just went in the opposite direction. Also, I am completely done with Theon/Reek. It’s past the point of uncomfortable, and he needs to be put out of his misery.

DAARIO AND DANY = YESSSSSSSS

That really explains my feelings on that, actually. I am so here for this relationship. I would love to see more of it, actually. Also, did Dany get a new wig? I’m liking the new hair down swipe braid.

Dany and Tyrion finally get to meet.

And the internet (including me) explodes into the theory they are related! Apparently this meeting wasn’t supposed to happen this soon, but I’m happy it did. It goes back to what I was saying about Arya’s storyline. If it drags, I lose interest. Sure seeing Tyrion and Jorah banter on a rowboat for a little while was fun, but that couldn’t last forever. I’m curious to see how these two treat each other. I’m hoping for a badass team up happening in the near future.

Cersei finally gets her Just Desserts.

Cersei was untouchable for so long, I almost forgot that she lived in Westeros. But she finally got a taste of her own medicine in this episode. Tommen really needs to get his head out of his ass really soon if he wants to live to see adulthood. Your wife is in some weird cult jail because your mother is evil! Poor Margaery. She doesn’t get hair or makeup servants in that cell! Grandma Tyrell is terrifying and I wouldn’t want to get on her bad side, that’s all I’m saying. Although, as much as Cersei deserved some payback, it’s definitely a double standard that she’s getting bagged for sleeping with her family, but her cousin, who she slept with, is in this cult and they totally forgave him.

Anyone else have thoughts or opinions on this season of Game Of Thrones? I’d love to hear it!

One thought on “Game Of Thrones Recap: “The Gift”

Leave a Reply

